57th Annual Weiss Awards Honors Six for their Commitment to the New Orleans Community.

Excerpt by Sue Strachan, NOLA.com | The Times-Picayune

In 1954, the four Weiss brothers — Seymour, Bernard, Milton and Julius — established an award in their name to recognize those New Orleanians whose civic and humanitarian contributions promote the values of diversity and humanity. Since then, a veritable who’s who of the city have been honored — Norman Francis, Rita Benson LeBlanc, Nick Mueller, Roger Ogden, Sydney Besthoff, Charles Teamer and this year’s awards event chair, Harry Rosenberg (in 1999).


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 Photo credit: Josh Brasted

The 2014 awards ceremony was at the Hyatt Regency Hotel on Wednesday (Nov. 5), starting with a cocktail hour where a select group of silent auction items caught interest, as did the live paintings by Jacob Zumo of Louis Armstrong and a Mardi Gras Indian, both of which became part of the auction, as well. After the All Around Brass Band kicked off dinner, the awards presentation ensued with the following six honored: Gayle Benson (Philanthropist), Dickie Brennan (Restaurateur/Chef), Rabbi Edward Paul Cohn (Congregation Temple Sinai), Dr. Karen DeSalvo (National Coordinator for Health Information Technology), Irvin Mayfield (Founding Artistic Director, New Orleans Jazz Orchestra), and Ashton Ryan Jr. (Founder, President and CEO, First NBC Bank).

To continue to the full length article on NOLA.com, CLICK HERE.